“Distinctive”

It’s loud. It’s quirky. It’s tempermental and somewhat unpredictable.
No, I’m not referring to me last night… a friend was actually gracious enough to lend me his truck for awhile.

“Just so you know, I’m not responsible if this breaks down.” he said.
“Um, that’s comforting…”

He brought me to the garage and handed me the keys. He had to explain the quirks of it.

“So I know you smoke, but you should be careful because the gastank is right behind you..”

The seats are bolted into place. I had to put the laptop behind me when I drove. It’s actually a rocketpack if anyone asks.

“The gas gauge is broken. So just make some left turns and if you hear it slosh around, then you’re good…”

Having used public transit and spent more money than this is likely worth with rentals over the past few months, I just laughed and thanked him. I love to drive and it meant the world to be driving damn near anything. Ah the price of mobility, eh?) Besides, as a rockabilly girl, I guess it’s fine.

I was a little embarrassed when I drove up to Twiistup 4 in this huge beast.

“It’s a beach truck.”

The valet just smiled and said it wasn’t that bad. I put my glasses on. I know it’s bad. A few friends have told me I should try and get it on Pimp My Ride.

I arrived sans date after all. But my night was far from horrible. I was originally going to wear slacks but went with a dress last minute. Polka dots and a red bow. No heels, lest my feet be killing me in the morning. I’ll need them for Mashable tomorrow.

I had an amazing time last night. I met a ton of new faces, and got to hang out more with some familiar ones.

I walked in and quickly found wmmarc and the TechZulu crowd. It was a rush. I was pulled this way and that. I talked to Vak and told him about how I’d been a fan of the site and wanted to help out. I ended up doing my first on camera interview for TechZulu. I was a bit nervous, but I think it went well. Things like that get easier in time right?

There were so many pictures taken. So much conversation and great people. I have another blog in the works about one of those in particular.
From the quirky to the ultra professional, it was an interesting turn out. And Mashable is going to be quite the party as well. Which I have to get showered and look for what exactly I’m going to wear to now. I swear gents, you have it so easy compared to us ladies.

I hope to see many of you again tonight and at more of the events. Yes, I’ll be that teensy girl with the loud beast of a vintage truck.. unless someone else drives me or it breaks down before then (please don’t beast.. please don’t..)

One thought on ““Distinctive”

  1. It’s a beast, but it runs good! Except for the small oil leak, gas gauge, tank gasket leak, it’s solid. LOL

    I hope it does some good for you. Embrace the beast, and it will take care of you.

Leave a Reply

