What’s love got to do with it?

Seriously. A couple of my coworkers were talking today about how one of them moved in with her boyfriend.

“Are you in love?” they asked.

“Um yeah, we’ve been together 3 years.” she said.

And I was thinking… why is that an assumption so many people make? It doesn’t necessarily have to mean that. People move in with eachother for dozens of reasons. Just because you have been with someone that long, doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re in love with them. It could be a convenience thing. It could be a peer pressure thing. It could be the “well, we’ve been together this long, so might as well” thing. It could be to save money. It could be to not have to masterbate as often. (Again, convenience)… The list goes on. Or maybe I’m just honest.

“So when are you getting married?”

“In about a year, after he finishes school.”

Another assumption. I nearly choked when I heard that. Not because I’m afraid of the dreaded M word. But because once again.. 1957 crap.
Ah evolution and standstill in the dating scene. Why why why?

I wish I could get into some of the stories that I’m hearing now. I can’t. Or rather I won’t. I will say this though…

I’m not against convention completely. I just don’t care for assumptions and classification. People seem to naturally want to catagorize everything that they can.

I’m hypocritical. As much as I proclaim to being polyamorous, I really am a closet monogamist. I’m just super picky. Once I’m with someone that fits under my microscope however, I’m the most loyal, all around awesome, minimal drama and maintence girlfriend you can imagine. Granted, I still have a vagina, so um.. yeah.

Will we ever truly evolve this “oh you need to get married and have a picket fence” or you’re a loser mentality? I’ve been there. I’ve done that. It’s overrated. I doubt I’ll be doing it again… (I’m a liar- I would under the right circumstances.. ie- pirates & um, my mother in a duck suit.. etc)

Point being–the modern age, yet again.. somehow doesn’t seem very modern to me just yet.

One thought on “What’s love got to do with it?

Leave a Reply

